Who Are You Working For?

“And whatever you do in word or deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through Him.”
(Col 3:17)

So… I have had a situation at my work. I am a fidgety type, so at work I am often moving back and forth, running around like a chicken with it’s head cut off. I cannot sit still, especially when I see a need. I work at my local hospital as a patient care tech. More specifically, I work in the surgical unit that comprises both pre-surgery and surgical recovery. I work in a BUSY place!

I am just one of many who assist the nurses and the patients with whatever they may need. As a Christian though, I try to be the very best that I can! I try to always have a good attitude and a servant’s heart. I’m not boasting… It is who and how I believe God has called me to be, so ALL GLORY BE TO HIM!

But lately, I have felt that some of my co-workers have been slacking off. I have felt that I was doing more than they were. And I began to have an attitude, even to bitterness! I had thoughts like, “If they’re not gonna do it, then I’m not gonna do it (A, B, C, or D job)!” Or, “Why are they sitting on their phones while I am up doing all the work? ” My attitude soured through my pleasantries while doing my job. If my attitude could have been described through emojis, it would have looked something like this: 😡😡😡😝😝😝⚡⚡⚡⛈️⛈️⛈️🌩️🌩️😡😡‼️‼️‼️‼️

But then, God gently spoke to my heart…. “Who are you working for?” All at once, it hit me. I am working for Him! HE is my ultimate BOSS! Oddly enough, I have been praying and striving to be a greater testimony for Jesus. And here, God brought it back to me… I work FOR HIM! I am to live to please HIM! Whatever I do, whatever my profession…. I am to be a laborer for HIM!

“But God,” I thought, “what about so and so not doing THEIR job?”

And God gently nudged me, “But we’re talking about YOU.”

Disclaimer: No, God didn’t speak to me literally…He just moved upon my heart with these thoughts.

I then realized that it doesn’t MATTER what others are doing or not doing! God has a specific purpose for ME! And if they aren’t Christians, then I shouldn’t be surprised if they don’t ACT like Christians! When I asked Christ into my life, my RIGHTS went out the window! I am SUPPOSED to be DEAD to myself, which includes my will, my attitudes, and my rights to be angry!!

I have been crucified with Christ; it is no longer I who live, but Christ lives in me; and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave Himself for me.” (Gal 2:20)

For you died, and your life is hidden with Christ in God.”
(Col 3:3)

I am to be a Christian first, and an employee later! And it doesn’t matter what everyone else is doing! I will have to give an account for what I do!!!

“For we must all appear before the judgment seat of Christ, that each one may receive the things done in the body, according to what he has done, whether good or bad.” (2 Cor 5:10)

But why do you judge your brother? Or why do you show contempt for your brother? For we shall all stand before the judgment seat of Christ. For it is written: “ As I live, says the Lord , Every knee shall bow to Me, And every tongue shall confess to God.” So then each of us shall give account of himself to God.” (Rom 14:10‭-‬12)

Now don’t get me wrong… This is not the same judgement that unbelievers will receive. If we’re saved, then we are ASSURED of Heaven. But we WILL give an account of our life in Christ!

However, if we want to be a good testimony for Christ, then we are to LIVE differently!! We don’t have the same rights and standards that the world has! We are held to a HIGHER standard!

So… Who are you and I working for? If we DO share Christ at the place we work, is our work ethic up to the standard of Christ? Is there a question about our work ethic and our integrity? Are people drawn to, or pushed away from Christ because of us?

“You are the light of the world. A city that is set on a hill cannot be hidden. Nor do they light a lamp and put it under a basket, but on a lampstand, and it gives light to all who are in the house. Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works and glorify your Father in heaven.” (Matt 5:14‭-‬16)

I felt convicted, and I want to live for Christ with EVERYTHING that is in me! It doesn’t matter if my ego is bruised or that I’m doing more .. I have to be obedient to HIM!

3 thoughts on “Who Are You Working For?

  1. bornagain732 July 3, 2020 / 9:21 pm

    Great post!!! All glory to our God on high!!!

    Liked by 3 people

  2. Lady Quixote/Linda Lee July 4, 2020 / 4:58 am

    This is GOOD. Really, REALLY good. I have no doubt this came from the Lord.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment